It’s that time of year again when we will set our alarms to go off one hour earlier for the official start of British Summer Time. So thinking of this, our Collections Clerk Tracey Hebron takes a look at some of the times pieces here in Barnsley and in our Museum collections.
Cannon Hall sun dial
This beautiful historic sundial, which was recently rediscovered as part of the Parks for People project at Cannon Hall is dated 1736. As part of the Heritage Lottery Funded ‘Restoring the Glory, Revealing the Secrets’ project, the sundial was placed in the Walled Garden for all to enjoy. Before clocks were invented, people generally relied on the passage of the sun through the sky to tell the time, this evolved into the sundial, or shadow clock which consists of a flat plate and a gnomon (or stick) that casts a shadow on the plate. When the sundial is properly aligned it will tell the local solar time.
Town Hall clock
The town hall clock with its four faces has kept time for Barnsley since 1933 in the 44 metres (144 ft) high central tower. The clock faces are round with white opaque diamond segmented glass, black numerals, and hands, with three gold roundels. All towns have benefited by having a central, easily seen time-piece. In many towns, this was often located in the tower of the parish church or like here in Barnsley in the Town Hall. The clock tower was originally left out of the town hall plans due to finance, however newspapers from Monday 11 July 1932 reported that as a result from an interview between the mayor at that time, Mr R J Plummer and the then secretary of Health Sir Arthur Robinson, it was agreed the addition of an ornament clock tower would be added to the plans. A loan and anonymous donation of £1,000 secured its build by Sir Arnold Thornely contractors. In 1953 it was reported that lightning hit one of the four faces of the clock.
Krakauer mantel clock
This Edwardian mantle clock currently on display at Experience Barnsley Museum is beautifully made in a deep brown wood, with a round white clock face, black numerals and hands with a delicate bow design which showcases the Krakauer family’s skill, craft and legacy.
Jewish immigrant makers Soloman & Max Krakauer had a shop on Church Street in the early 20th century. Solomon and Henrietta Krakauer emigrated from Germany to Barnsley in 1891. Max, the Krakauer’s eldest son served in World War One against his native Germany, in the Army Medical Corp, ascending ranks from private to sergeant and awarded 3 medals. Max’s younger brother, Arthur emigrated to New York in 1897 becoming a linen trader with links to the Barnsley trade, back in Barnsley the family shop specialised in making clocks and jewellery. Domestic clocks like this first appeared in the 15th century when smaller mechanisms were created.
New York pocket watch
This round silver pocket watch with white face is currently on display at Experience Barnsley. In the 15th century, the spiral spring mechanism was created, replacing the long pendulum, this paved the way for the development of smaller watches. Only a few decades later in 1812, Abraham-Louis Breguet made the first known wristwatch for Queen Caroline Murat, Napoleon’s sister. It was attached to the wrist with a strap and many women began wearing them around their necks while men carried them on a chain attached to their back pocket. The wristwatch and pocket watch slowly found its way into social life, and at the end of the 19th century, they had a firm place in fashion and convenience.
This beautiful pewter clock from Cannon Hall Museums decorative collection is dated from the 1900s and was designed under the ‘Tudric’ brand for Liberty & Co. ‘Tudric’ wares were a combination of Art Nouveau and Celtic styles. A clock like this was small and stylish so could be used on a mantlepiece, desk or bedside table, making it a popular product. The clock has black roman numerals and a blue enamel face and is currently on display in the glass galleries at Cannon Hall Museum.
Clocking in clocks
Experience Barnsley Museum is home to one of only three clocking-in clocks used by miners at Barnsley Main Colliery – the site of the Oaks Disaster. The clock was used in the mid-20th Century to mark the start and finish of the daily toil of thousands of miners in Barnsley. Originally made by Gledhill Brook, it is in excellent working condition; and was still in working use in the 1960s before being used as a decorative timepiece in the now demolished Barnsley Main Transport Office. It is widely believed that the first clocking in clock was invented in 1888 by American Willard Bundy, a jeweller based in Auburn, New York. This mechanical or electrical timepiece tracked the hours an employee worked and was used by the employer to calculate pay.
This pigeon clock currently on display at Experience Barnsley Museum was used and donated by a pigeon fancier from Barnsley. The British royal family began to keep pigeons in the late nineteenth century, and pigeon racing became a sport of the masses in the early 1900’s here in the UK. Pigeon racing is the sport of releasing trained homing pigeons in which they then return to their homes over a carefully measured distance. To measure the distance, an apparatus first built by Emery Van den Bossche in Belgium around 1885 became known as the pigeon clock. A rubber ring with a unique identification number would be attached to the bird’s leg before a race, the number was recorded and the clock started. When the bird returned, the owner would remove the ring, slot it into the clock and the time recorded. The time stamp would then be taken to the club so a fair system was in place for everyone competing.
Benj Harral clock and time ball
Benjamin Harral’s on Eldon Street was a much-loved jewellery shop who became known for giving out a complimentary bread knifes to those who bought an engagement or wedding ring. founded in 1898, the shop was family-run for nearly 100 years and had other branches in Pontefract and Mexborough. The shop also sold grandfather clocks and other time pieces. As well as the large clock which sat above the premises, and remains. The shop had its very own golden time ball. Research uncovered by the Eldon Street High Street Heritage Zone recently revealed that the time ball was linked to the Eiffel Tower in Paris by wireless. It dropped at exactly 11am each day so local people could set their watches by it.
Search more Barnsley Museums collections
We are frequently adding to our online catalogue which you find at explorebarnsleycollections.com
Have you read our recent blog?